Avendano Memorial

The Avendano Memorial is scheduled for Monday February 18th 2019 @ the International Polo Club.

To register Click Here 

 avendano winners tatos

Anita Avendano Wulff presenting to the 2018 Avendano Memorial Winners:

Tatos: Harry Fuller, Landen Eckbo Daniels, Santiago Zedda & Milo Dorignac

2017 avendano winners

2017 Avendano Memorial Benjamin, Gonzalo and Joaquin Avendano Presenting to

Tatos Mallets: Archie Fuller, Landen Eckbo Daniels and Santos Merlos (Mackenzie Weisz not pictured)

 2016 avendano

Gonzalo Avendano presenting to the 2016 Avendano memorial Winners:

Santa Clara : Nicolas Escobar, Juanse Olivera, Tomas Schwenke and Lucas Escobar

avendano 2015

Anita Avendano Wulff and Gonzalo Avendano presenting to 2015 Avendano Memorial Winners:

GJ Racing: Milagros Fernandez Araujo, Mackenzie Weisz, Cipriano Echezarreta and Lucas Escobar

2015 Avendano Memorial Schedule (PDF)


For more information, please contact This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

2014 Avendano Memorial Results!!!


2013 Avendano Memorial Results!!!!

Avendano Memorial Schedule, Teams and Results PDF



2012 Avendano Memorial

by Haley Bryan and Jennifer McLeavy

President's Day, February 20, 2012, marked the 30th Anniversary of the Avendano Junior Tournament. Played at IPC, it was a monumental 30th Anniversary to the Avendano Memorial!   First of all, there were 115 kids who played, which is believed to be the most kids ever entered.  Secondly, there were many 2nd generation players.  Four who played in the first Avendano had children playing in the 30th anniversary:   Julio Arellano (Agustin, Lucas, Hope), Luis Escobar (Nicolas, Lucas), Sylvia (Midolo) Firestone (Oliver), and Pite Merlos (Olivia), along with Gonzalo Avendano, who narrowly missed the age cut off the first year, had his three sons playing: Santiago, Benjamin, Joachin.

The Florida Junior Polo would like to thank the International Polo Club and all its staff for being World Class hosts, the Avendano Family, and the countless volunteers and parents who made the day special:

The Tackeria
Linda Martinez
Robin Sanchez
Perry Palmer
Mario Chiarra
Jimmy Seward
Martin Ravina
Cody Offen
Matthew Copolla
Amanda Hersey
Alex and Linda Pacheco
Morgan Bowman
David Lominska
Elizabeth Hedley
Deedee Connell
Melanja Jones
Tom Sikes
Catherine Erb
Emily Marshok
Stephanie Schwetz
Sohail Quareshi
Kris Bowman
Cristina Frenandez
Justin Powers
Jake Stimmel
Carlitos Galindo
Mark Powers

To all who participated, the PTF and the kids say THANK YOU!!!!!

See the 2012 Avendano Memorial Tournament Results [pdf]
Happy 30th Birthday the Avendano Memorial!
By Kirsten Braden, thanks to Gonazalo Avendano
There are many polo players in Florida right now who are furiously practicing for a prestigious tournament that many polo fans might not have on their calendars. This is because the polo players range from 3 to 15 years old. We are talking of course about the Avendano Cup. And what these young athletes lack in age, they more than make up for in passion for the game and an eagerness to take part in a tournament as old as many of their parents: In fact quite a few of the children in this year’s tournament are the progeny of the first original players.
Carlos Avendano Sr.The Avendano Cup, was started by Carlos M. Avendaño, a polo player and horse breeder, who came from Argentina to play in Palm Beach Polo & Country Club in 1982.  He saw a lot of children starting to learn to play polo who had nowhere to play. At that time all the fields in Florida belonged to clubs such as Palm Beach Polo, Gulfstream and Boca Raton. There were simply no opportunities in the whole of the US for children to play.
In Argentina at that time there was a very popular children’s tournament started by the Heguy Family called Potrillos Cup. Carlos’ son Gonzalo Avendano played that cup along with many of the future high goal players of his generation, such as the Heguy cousins, the Merlos brothers, Mariano Gonzalez and so on.
Carlos and his wife made a monumental decision to create a similar tournament in the US and call it the Avendaño Memorial Tournament, in memory of Carlos” father Miguel Avendaño. They found the trophy that is still used today in an antique store in Palm Beach. With the support of the current Club Chairman William Ylvisaker, Allan Shearer the Polo Manager and people like Francisco Escobar, Carlos Arellano and many others, the birth of the first US children’s tournament came about.
Gonzalo Avendano, Carlos’ son, recollects that for the first tournament they struggled to get eight children signed up. However the now very famous names of Jose and Luis Escobar played, along with Silvia Firestone and Julio Arellano. Times have changed a lot over thirty years and this year’s Avendano Cup, traditionally held on President’s Day Monday has attracted well over one hundred children - including Benjamin, Joaquin and Santiago Avendano – grandchildren to the original founder, Lucas and Nicolas Escobar, Agustin, Hope and Lucas Arellano, Rufino, Santos and Segundo Merlos
and Oliver Firestone…. All very familiar names…..and you might spot some very familiar faces cheering the next generation of polo on from the sidelines!
Gonazlo Avendano credits the success and longevity of the Cup to the support of many people such as Mimi Gracida, Silvia Firestone and many other polo parents. Now, the cup is run by the The Polo Training Foundation. It is also strongly supported by Gulfstream Polo Club, the Grand Champions Polo Club and the International Polo Club.
“The Avendano Cup has grown beyond the Avendano family” said Gonazalo Avendano. “We will always support it but now it belongs to American polo and every child who wants to participate. I hope that in the future, when I am not here, the tournament will continue to grow and help build character in young people and create better players.”

Avendano Memorial 2012 Results

2012 Avendano Memorial Schedule, Teams & Results